Why move to Premium Efficiency Motors

  • European Union requires all constant speed motors to be Premium Efficiency (IE3) by January 1, 2015
  • All motors in the EU must be IE3 by January 1, 2017
  • US Energy Independence & Security Act of 2007 (ESIA) requires all general purpose motors to be Premium Efficiency
  • Currently in the US special purpose motors may use EPAct 1992 efficiency standards.

Energy Standardization

EESCC Objective: Effective deployment of standardization among the public & private sectors

  • Fall of 2012 ANSI launched the Energy Efficiency Standardization Coordination Collaborative (EESCC)
  • The intent of the EESCC is to set the standard which will cover all domestic motors including pumps

NEMA motor regulations are sun setting standard efficiency

  • Regulated minimum efficiencies are on the rise
  • Push up motors that were not previously covered now at a minimum must be EPAct including fire pumps
  • All motors will be NEMA Premium in the near future
  • EISA established key standards for commercial/residential/municipal/Industrial energy efficiency
  • Green/LEED initiatives will provide financial incentives